Easy Listening

25 July 2014, TV = 833.7 hours

OK, so I do tend write a lot about the misfires: not understanding, misunderstanding, misspeaking, etc. Maybe I take for granted what I can already do, focusing disproportionately on what I can’t. Or, maybe it’s the simple reality that a lot of real-life-Thai is above my capabilities – sometimes just slightly above, sometimes completely out of reach.

For example, I recently wrote about how I understand a fair amount of what’s on the radio, but usually only in a kind of vague/sketchy way; or how song lyrics can be really hard to understand.

But not everything’s like that. Take this bouncy early 80s song by สาว สาว สาว (sao sao sao), ประตูใจ. I actually first heard this song several years ago, before I’d started to learn Thai.

Of course back then I had no idea what it was about. Now, I’d guesstimate I get maybe somewhere around two thirds to three quarters of the words used, and pretty much understand what’s going on, even if there are some parts where my comprehension fades out. (This is just listening to the singing, I’ve ignored the karaokeesque subs).

So it’s not like everything Thai is uber-incomprehensible.

8 thoughts on “Easy Listening

  1. adamf2011 Post author

    I don’t understand วงโปรด.
    Is this music from your สมัยตอนเป็นวัยรุ่น? The funny thing is how familiar this music sounds to me. When I first heard it, I thought: kind of new wave, something circa 1980 plus or minus three years. And Thai wikipedia does list 2526 (=1983) as the release date for the album this song was on.
    It’s disorienting, and kind of neat, to run into things that are both so familiar and so foreign at the same time….

    Reply
  2. Bee

    วง = music band
    โปรด = favorite
    เพลงโปรด เสื้อตัวโปรด ของโปรด คนโปรด

    Reply
    1. adamf2011 Post author

      So, I understand these examples you’re giving except for เสื้อตัวโปรด, because with my shaky reading “abilities”, I’m don’t get เสื้อตัว — เสื้อ and ตัว each look like several words I know, none of which make sense as a complete phrase เสื้อตัวโปรด. I would have to actually hear this phrase to even have a chance of understanding it.

      We’ll have to go over these. 🙂

      Reply
      1. Bee

        ตัว เป็น ลักษณะนาม ของ เสื้อ ตัว is a noun classifier of shirt.
        Thai has many differences of noun classifier.
        ตัวอย่างเช่น for examples

        ฉันมีเสื้อ 2 ตัว I have 2 shirts. เสื้อตัวโปรดของฉัน my favorite shirt

        เล่ม เป็น ลักษณะนาม ของ หนังสือ เล่ม is a noun classifier of book. หนังสือเล่มโปรด

        เรื่อง เป็นลักษณะนามของภาพยนตร์ (หนัง) และละคร เรื่อง is a noun classifier of movie and lakorn. หนังเรื่องโปรด ละครเรื่องโปรด

  3. Bee

    โปรดเอื้อเฟื้อแก่ เด็ก สตรี และคนชรา
    โปรด = please

    Reply
    1. adamf2011 Post author

      Beyond maybe getting a few of the words used, this is pretty cryptic. ❓ Again, I would need to hear this — and probably have it explained, too.

      Reply
      1. Bee

        You may probably see this statement on the bus.
        เอื้อเฟื้อ = be generous ; give support เอื้อเฟื้อแก่ give support to
        เด็ก = children, สตรี = woman , คนชรา = elderly people

        โปรดเอื้อเฟื้อแก่ เด็ก สตรี และ คนชรา
        Please be generous to children, woman and elderly people.
        แปลว่า mean ; please give your seat to those people if they get on the bus and standing close to you.

Leave a Reply

