A Friday

20 March 2015, TV = 1111.2 hours

AUA: advanced class = 1107 hours, total class time = 2045 hours

A semi-wasted morning and early afternoon as I realize that my prospective language partner isn’t going to work out. When we’d met by chance a few weeks ago he’d expressed both a desire to work on his English and a willingness to help me with my Thai. Now that we’ve finally gotten together for what I thought would be a language learning session, he repeatedly tries to get me to agree to a trip to the provinces to check out a business project of his, and doesn’t show much interest in language matters other than asking me for English translations of various random Thai words that pop up in our conversation.

I politely beg off a number of times, giving him actual reasons why this job wouldn’t work for me; finally, I pretty much tell him straight out that I’m not interested. Back in his office after a tour of the campus where he works and numerous introductions to colleagues (both unrelated to his provincial venture), the subject of reading Thai comes up and I explain how I’m currently trying to learn to read and that one of my methods uses listening to Thai audio recordings. To this end I play for him a snippet of a home-made recording of a friend of mine reading from a book. He doesn’t volunteer to help out and I decide that it’s not worth asking, so I finish my iced coffee and head out the building and back to the streets of Bangkok.

Not a total waste as most of the conversation was in Thai, but not at all what I was looking for. Well, I also got to see a part of Bangkok that I’d never before been to.

* * *

The day is hot and back in my apartment I turn on the AC and listen to some of Aesop’s fables in Thai, and watch some clips on youtube —  a talk show, a science documentary, a tutoring video aimed at high school students.

* * *

Anyway, here’s a song I like that I discovered a few weeks ago: ตัวปลอม by ไฮดรา

Happy weekend!

3 thoughts on “A Friday

  1. Andrej

    Do you know of my website http://www.thairecordings.com? I have about 10 hours of recordings of spoken Thai on a wide variety of topics with pretty accurate transcripts. It’s at natural speed, so it may be too fast, but you should give it a try. It’s all free, no strings attached.

    Reply
    1. adamf2011 Post author

      I’ve been using the resources on your website over the last maybe 3 or 4 months. I have, I think, all the audio files from thairecordings downloaded onto my phone and have listened to them quite a bit. I’ve so far used the transcripts to a much lesser extent, going through one of them and raiding it as a source of written Thai (i.e., noting down in a notebook those words whose spoken forms I feel I know fairly well).

      It’s a great resource — very helpful, free (as you note), and I haven’t found anything else like it on the internet; I would totally recommend it to anyone learning Thai. It has the benefit of providing numerous fairly short (about 5 minutes each) audio clips on a variety of topics; each is spoken in a natural, conversational style, and transcribed into written form.

      Also, good luck with the new project learning Northern Khmer in ALGesque fashion — I just read the first post of your new blog, and am looking forward to reading more.

      Reply
      1. Andrej

        Good 🙂 Just wanted to make sure that you were aware of it. I had the recordings made first, and then the transcripts by another person – it’s therefore pretty different from a written text read out loud. I don’t think something like this exists elsewhere, unfortunately. I don’t know, however, whether it’s helpful as a resource for learning to read; probably not.

        Regarding NK, you’ll see that I’m modifying ALG a bit to make it more active (TPR-like activities etc.) while still sticking to a long silent period, no translation and no language analysis. I’m starting to think that ALG is a bit too passive. I learn faster when I’m engaged, and kids usually are engaged as well even before they start speaking. I will see how this comes along. So far it’s good fun.

        EDIT: better link: http://outerkhmer.blogspot.ch/p/start-here.html?m=1

Leave a Reply

